Skip to content

Dry trip to Walmart

May 1, 2012

So gabe and I went to Walmart for groceries and were gone just about hour. He peed right before we left the house and usually pees about every 45 min. He was wearing training pants that hold a pee (sorta) and I had a back up pair in the pocket of my ergo baby carrier. When we go out I use the carrier mostly rather than his stroller, he is attached to me this way and seems to be happiest. Also the way he sits, he is straddling my stomach so if he does pee, I know immediately, as does my shirt, but it’s all part of the deal. Then I can change his pants immediately so he never has to sit in pee for more than a few seconds. Anyway, we had been in Walmart for about 30 min so I took him to the bathroom to see if he would pee (he has never peed in a public toilet even though I’ve tried 4 times now, and he will pee in the ones at home sometimes without his toilet insert thingy to sit on. To do this, I hold him facing the toilet with the seat up and his thighs in my hands and aim and make a “pssssss” sound and sometimes he goes. No go this time. So 20 more minutes in Walmart and I tried again. No go. It had been almost an hour since he had peed at home, so I kept shopping knowing I would be peed on anytime and have to drive home with a damp shirt. Finished up shopping, checked out, still dry! Walked to the truck (which I have been parking on the side of stores so no one can really see) and sat in the truck, put him in position and opened the door, made the cue, and he peed right out the door onto the pavement. So he seems to pee every time I cue him while we are outside. If I think he needs to go at home and he doesn’t go on the potty, we go outside in the backyard and he goes almost every time! It must be instinct for humans to know to urinate outdoors in nature (or Walmart parking lot). Pretty cool, but I hope he starts liking public restrooms because I don’t know if I can always be so sneaky and pee him out the truck door! If this is the first entry you’ve read and don’t know about elimination communication, check out diaperfreebaby.org for more info on the process! Gabe is 6 months this Thursday and rarely wears diapers anymore at all, and many families are raising babies diaper free from birth!

20120501-121632.jpg

20120501-121811.jpg

Gabe in the ergo baby carrier with aunt Ashley a few weeks ago!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Jan Hall permalink

    This is just to cool….typical man would rather pee outside…lol

  2. That is so awesome! Someday Ellie will get there

Leave a Reply

